Pain and Purpose

Although suffering apparently has its favorites, it eventually becomes an equal opportunity offering to all. 

If the beginning of wisdom is fear, then we should tremble at the intense beneficence radiating from God through our suffering.  It is the comfort of Christian reality that reveals a purpose to suffering. 

From the outside, stained-glass looks lifeless, useless and dull.  However, standing in the aisle of a church while colored rays transform a space into a silent spectrum of beauty, the liberating capacity of stained-glass finds its ultimate purpose.   So it is with the tribulation that rips us from our predictable lifestyle and stresses our faith towards an uncompromised relationship of trust.  The mere pondering of our future suffering begs our personal investment of faith and our obedience to its message of hope.  Without faith, suffering is avoided at all costs at maintaining one’s comfort.  With faith, the pain is just as intolerable but offers a bucket for our tears, a pillow for our screams, and a merciful hand to pull us through with purpose.  God willing tomorrow is just an extension of yesterday’s predictability.  However, if suffering finds me, I will first give thanks to the One who offers hope through this valley of tears.

Seek Peace,

Chris

Glory Be

 

Scattered thoughts

Scattered dreams,

Push me past the point to scream.

Memories –

Confused and dim,

My Hope and Faith marred by sin;

Yet,

My prayer begins…

 

Glory Be…

To the Father that holds me near,

Who sees past my dim veneer.

Glory Be…

To the Son standing in my midst,

Whose piercings bear the sins I list.

Glory Be…

To the Spirit that draws my soul,

Who rends a diamond from sin’s coal.

 

Holy Father, Spirit, Son,

Help me live what you begun.

Light my every patient step,

For the things I can’t accept.

Holy Father, Spirit, Son,

Thank you for a love I can’t outrun.

 

©2011 by Chris Clody 10/5/2011

Please “Leave a reply” that helps others understand pain and purpose.

For more Christian encouragement check out my ebook by clicking the following link: Thoughts2Share

 

Leave a Reply

