Darkened By The Smoke Of Sin

The soot of our depravity continues to clothe our need for divine washing. 

Although we may try our best to cover the darkness of our disobedience it bares our naked truth in our thoughts, words and actions.   However, knowing our species were once deemed “good” by God before sin entered this world, then an obedient path exists through God to joyfully reclaim our goodness.  Even better, Our Redeemer who calls us friend will present us to the Father as both holy and righteous.

This morning I awoke once again with my confession along with a grateful prayer for hope that reaches out to the one I want to call me friend.  Please join me in also praying for others who despair to find the love of this “friend.”

Friend

 Clouded by the smoke of sin,

I’m blinded for the moment,

Stinging eyes and blackened skin

Embrace darkness I lament –

Knees crumble as tears begin,

Praying for the light within.

 

Concupiscence is my beast,

That howls when it cannot win,

Like a wolf that comes to feast,

On this soul where hope has ceased.

 

Yet hope feeds what the wolf fears,

My heart once last but not least,

Nurturing faith as smoke clears.

 

Sin may find me once again,

But Hope overcomes and calls me friend.

 

 

©2011 by Chris Clody 10/17/2011

 

Please “Leave a reply” that helps others understand hope.

For more Christian encouragement check out my ebook by clicking the following link: Thoughts2Share

One thought on “Darkened By The Smoke Of Sin

Leave a Reply

