Seen Through Mom’s Eyes

The greatest blight that deadens our souls continues as loneliness.  Loneliness is as insidious as it is unexpected in casting longer and longer shadows into our perspective. Life viewed through this suffocating dimness can be a debilitating challenge that slows our sacred journeys (religious or non-religious) to little more than a crawl.  Often our self-pessimism we slowly gather is far from the truth and I believe a possible remedy is closer than we think.  It is well worth our time to see our self through the eyes of our mother.  A mother’s love is beautifully stubborn, intimate, and meticulous in understanding what makes us tick. Our mothers therefore at least deserve the honor to describe to us our worth, that marvelous dignity, to maybe a face only she could love…  If we our honest and listen to what we our told then we stand more than a chance to re-calibrate our perspective free of the loneliness we don’t deserve.

Would you be willing to join me in a contemplative moment and talk a walk on a poetic journey?  If so, take a moment to clear your mind and see this son through His mother”s eyes.

Look To My Son

20120330-053906

Look at my newborn Son
This divine drop of innocence
This infinite ocean of hope
Sleeping quietly and content

Look at this carpenter’s son
Working to see His father pleased
Working wood with hardened hands
The ones we’ll pierce to set us free.

Look through my Savior’s wounds
See far beyond His suffering
See forgiveness framed on a cross
Unleashing love – embracing sin.

Kneel with me at the cross,
Feel the sorrow in my soul,
Son turns Savior before my eyes,
Grief impossible to console.
Stay with me at the cross,
Take my hand and heart awhile,
For only love held Him aloft,
Conquering our redemption’s trial.
Stay with me a little longer,
Hold your trembling Mother,
Share my love and my pain,
Flesh of my flesh now Redeemer.
Help me up from the ground,
Steady me while I stand,
Only grace can hold this heart,
Although my mind can’t understand.

Remember me when I’m gone,
Remember the victory that He won,
Remember whenever you say my name,
You’ll be looking at my Son.

tears

Ad Jesum per Mariam
Ad Jesum per Mariam
Ad Jesum per Mariam

By Chris Clody 8/13/13

The Latin phrase “Ad Jesum per Mariam” means “To Jesus Through Mary” and regardless of our preferred theology, I hope you found the empathy and profound intimacy to see the infant, the child, the man, the Redeemer and Savior, through the eyes of His mother.

His Peace,

Chris

3 thoughts on “Seen Through Mom’s Eyes

Leave a Reply

