Five little words…

I learned something today.  I was reading a post on facebook regarding Mother Teresa and the beauty and true simplicity of the Gospel was never better said as I read:

People often asked Mother Teresa why she loved the poor so much, how she could honor dignity in such difficult situations. In response, she liked to grasp their hand, slowly wiggle one finger at a time, and explain: “You-did-it-to-me.” In her mind, you could count the whole Gospel on just five fingers. (http://www.wordonfire.org/resources/blog/jesus-in-his-most-distressing-disguise/4479/)

You did it for me

mother-teresa-loving-saint-ch60_l

Empty out your life through the love God extends,
Release the radiant joy buried deep within,
For when you love another as yourself,
You did it for me.

You did it for me,
You did it for me,
Whatever you do for the least of these,
You did it for me.

You fed me when I was hungry,
You gave me water for my thirst,
You sheltered me when I had no home,
You clothed me when I shivered,
You held my hand through my sickness,
And my imprisonment,
What you did to the least of these,
You did it for me.

You did it for me,
You did it for me,
Whatever you do for the least of these,
You did it for me.

These five little words,
You count on your fingers,
Will open your eyes to see,
Loving God through your neighbor’s dignity,
When you did it for me.

imagesCA45NRQP

By Chris Clody 9/6/2014

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Five little words…

  1. Hello, Chris! Quite a lovely poem rephrasing Jesus’ words. I have always admired Mother Teresa for exemplifying Christ’s command of compassion for the poor.

    I invite you to read my poem “Five Loaves,” which was also inspired by the same words of Jesus.

    God bless,
    Katrina

Leave a Reply

