A Risky Path Finds Holy Ground: LENT

Radical, self-giving, unhesitating, and genuine is the love mentored by our Savior. It is in the housecleaning of repentance that we not only find how deep we buried our true self, but an unexpected, inner wilderness that beacons towards a risky path of love.  Here in the desert of our being, hot sands become holy ground.  I pray you find it’s worth the walk….

Inner Wilderness

wilderness

Stumbling through my inner darkness,
A Light glows beneath a door,
Opened only when I confess,
Desert sands replace the floor,
The sun burns hot, yet I explore.

Is this my Hell or Holy ground?
My prideful thoughts begin to war,
Cursing at this door I found,
My burning flesh begins to brown,

Endless are the desert swells,
Holding sin like burial mounds,
Mirages tempt like water wells,
Dismissing all that ransoms Hell.

This risky path I walk alone,
Pulling the clapper on pride’s death knell,
Because the love that I’ve been shown.

Returning through the door I’ve opened,
Darkness flees from reaching light,
Liquid sun paints once dark golden,
Humility grows with new sight,
More repentant, more contrite,
Knowing this desert cross bears God’s delight.

by Chris Clody 2/25/2015

Seek and you will find.

His ,
Chris

2 thoughts on “A Risky Path Finds Holy Ground: LENT

Leave a Reply

